Our Board of Directors

Homer Montalvo
Ph. D.

Board Interim Chairman - Homer Montalvo is a family tree member of the Montalvo family. He served for 42 years as an educator, as teacher, school superintendent, and Associate Vice President of Student Affairs with California State University in Bakersfield, CA.

Scott Manson, CPA, JD

Scott Manson.jpg

Board Treasurer - Mr. Manson is a CPA and an Attorney with extensive business and not for profit experience.  He is currently CFO and General Counsel for a publicly traded consumer goods company.  Mr. Manson also serves as Treasurer of six not for profits.




Board Secretary and Executive DirectorSilk Waters served as a small business owner for over 30 years. She brings extensive experience in public relations, office management and fiscal responsibility to our Board.

Honorary Board Members/Consultants

Enrique Fernandez

 Judge Enrique Fernandez practiced law for 25 years in and around Kinney County and the surrounding area before being elected as the presiding judge of the 63rd Judicial District Court. His love for the preservation of history was the motivating factor in The Montalvo House Board for over 5 years.  He now sits as a honored and treasured Honorary Board Member/Consultant.


Tim Miller was appointed by Texas State Agricultural Commissioner Sid Miller (no relation) to Texas State Organic Farming Advisory Board.  As the owner and operator of Millberg Certified Organic Farm, he has over 40 years of experience in organic, sustainable farming.  He is known throughout the state as a teacher and advocate of sustainable farming practices, including water conservation and top soil conservation.



Ph. D.

Dr. Sanjeev Kalaswad retired from the Texas Water Development Board in late 2016 as Director of the agency’s Water Conservation and Innovative Water Technologies group. A geologist by training and education, Sanjeev spent more than 25 years in the water resource-management field, the first half-dozen in the private sector in Upstate New York and the remainder with two state agencies in Texas. He is presently working with a non-profit organization in India on projects to alleviate water problems faced by rural communities in the country. Sanjeev lives with his wife in Pflugerville.



Paul Campbell is retired from the Texas Department of Transportation as their Chief Architect.  His water conservation inspired designs have been incorporated in countless rest areas throughout the State of Texas.  Truly passionate about Texas history and its preservation, P. Campbell has been associated with The Montalvo House for close to eight years.



Born and raised in Brackettville, Brittany Wylie is passionate about Kinney County, its history, and its sustainability as a rural community.  With a Master's degree in Technical Communication, she lends her experience and expertise as Director of Marketing and Proposals for Inflow-NS, a national company that serves to assist other company's achieve peak performance levels through effective communication and technology.